The Brevard FL Realtor Group and I are excited to introduce Weekly Features. Each week we feature one topic, Monday - Friday.
Our "Weekly Features" begins with, Homeowner Info Brevard County FL. We cover important homeowner information that can be found at the Brevard County FL Tax Appraisers website. This week we will feature:
(1.) Filing a petition disputing exemptions and market Value, (2.) Changes to your property title,
(3.) Applying for homestead exemption online
(4.) Homestead Removal
(5.) Limited Income Senior Exemptions
Value Adjustment Board
If a property owner does not agree with their set market value and or denial of emption, a petition must be filed at the Clerk of the Courts office during the taxable year on or before the 25th day following the mailing of the notice by the property appraiser. More information
Changes to Your Property Title
If you made changes to the title of your property such as a change in marital status or put your homestead property in a trust or life estate in the last year, you must reapply for homestead exemption. State law requires that you reapply if your property’s title changed in any way. The deadline for applying for any exemption is March 1st. More Information
Limited Income Senior Exemptions
Two Additional Homestead Exemptions for Persons 65 and Older
Some county or city governments have adopted local ordinances, under Section 6(d) of Article VII of the Florida Constitution, and section 196.075, Florida Statutes, allowing one or both of the additional homestead exemptions described below. Contact your local property appraiser for information on any ordinances passed in your county. These exemptions apply only to the tax millage a county or city levies when it adopts a local ordinance and do not apply to the millage of school districts or other taxing units:
• An exemption not exceeding $50,000 to any person who has the legal or equitable title to real estate, maintains permanent residence on the property, is 65 or older, and whose household income does not exceed the household income limitation; or
• An exemption equal to the assessed value of the property to an owner who has title to real estate in Florida with a just value less than $250,000, as determined in the first tax year that the owner applies and is eligible for the exemption, and who has maintained permanent residence on the property for at least 25 years, is 65 or older, and whose household income does not exceed the household income
For more information call the property appraisers office and speak with an exemption specialist.
Florida Law prescribes that it is the duty of the owner of any property to notify the property appraiser promptly whenever the use of the property or the status or condition of the owner changes so as to change the exempt status of the property.
If any property owner fails to so notify the property appraiser and the property appraiser determines that for any year within the prior 10 years the owner was not entitled to receive such exemption, the property shall be subject to the taxes exempted as a result of such failure, plus 15 percent interest per annum and a penalty of 50 percent of the taxes exempted,
Cracking Down on Homestead Fraud
In 2019, the Brevard County Appraisers office implemented a fraud detection suite developed by LexisNexis Risk Solutions. Read more
If you have vacated and are now renting your property, you no longer qualify for homestead exemption. Only permanent residents are entitled to homestead exemption and you must submit a request to be removed.
You must submit a Home Removal Request Form to remove your homestead exemption.
Apply for Homestead Exemption online
Until recently, homeowners had to apply for homestead exemption at the property appraiser’s office. There were long lines and often missing documents. You can now apply online, however you need to be prepared.
By Florida Law, you will be required to submit your Social Security number, driver's license number, date of birth, along with other information regarding your residency. If you do not wish to submit this information electronically, you may file in person on or before March 1st.
If more than one person will be filing for exemption, each applicant must file at this time. Each applicant must complete the interview process in one session, so be sure to have all your information gathered before you start.
There are also additional general exemptions available and the requirements to qualify.
This wraps up this week's feature about "need to know" information provided by the Brevard County Property Appraiser.